February 26, 2020

Kansas Records New Album ‘The Absence of Presence’

KANSAS, America’s legendary progressive rock band, will release their highly anticipated new studio album “The Absence of Presence” on 26th June 2020. The album was recorded at Real 2 Reel Studios in late summer of 2019.

The album follows-up 2016’s “The Prelude Implicit”, also recorded at Real 2 Reel, which debuted at #14 on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums chart. KANSAS has sold more than 30 million albums worldwide, and is famous for classic hits such as ‘Carry On Wayward Son’ and ‘Dust in the Wind’ to progressive epics like ‘Song for America.’

“The Absence of Presence,” released by Inside Out Music, features nine all new tracks written by the band, produced by Zak Rizvi, and co-produced by PhilEhart and Richard Williams. KANSAS’s signature sound is unmistakable throughout. The album showcases Ronnie Platts towering vocals, David Ragsdale’s searing violin, Tom Brislin’s dazzling keyboards, Williams and Rizvi’s electrifying guitar riffs, Ehart’s powerful drums, and Billy Greer’s rocking bass.

October 9, 2016

Kansas – The Prelude Implicit

KANSAS is back on the Billboard charts with “The Prelude Implicit!” 

Kansas The Prelude ImplicitThe new album from Kansas, The Prelude Implicit, features 10 all new tracks written by the band and co-produced by Zak Rizvi, Phil Ehart, and Richard Williams. KANSAS’s signature sound is evident throughout the album. The album was recorded at Real 2 Reel Studios, mixed by Jeff Glixman and mastered by Vlado Meller.

The first album of new material from the band in 16 years is receiving fantastic reviews.  The works showcase Ronnie Platt’s soaring lead vocals, David Ragsdale’s blistering violin, Williams and Rizvi’s rocking guitar riffs, the unmistakable sound of David Manion’s B3 organ and keyboards, Ehart’s thundering drums, and Billy Greer’s driving bass and vocals.

Kansas has sold more than 30 million albums worldwide, and is famous for classic hits such as ‘Carry On Wayward Son’ and ‘Dust In the Wind,’ to progressive epics like ‘Song for America’ and ‘Miracles Out of Nowhere.’ The album is available on CD, double 180 Gram Vinyl and digitally on iTunes and Google Play.

The result of the time in the studio was even more than the band imagined.  “This is definitely a KANSAS album,” remarks original guitarist Richard Williams. “Whether it is the trademark Prog epic like ‘The Voyage of Eight Eighteen,’ biting rocker such as ‘Rhythm in the Spirit,’ or mindful ballad like ‘The Unsung Heroes,’ there is something on this album for every kind of KANSAS fan.  After years of pent-up creativity, the entire band is very proud of ‘The Prelude Implicit.’”

Lead Vocalist Ronnie Platt adds, “Recording ‘The Prelude Implicit’ was an incredible experience, and I couldn’t be happier with the results. It is my hope that, knowing the intense listeners that KANSAS fans are, the continuity yet diversity of this album will be pleasing to them.”



Standing left to right – Davie Manion, Zak Rizvi, Bill Turpin, Ronnie Platt, Phil Ehart, Richard Williams
Seated left to right – Steve Rawls, James Cobb, Will McPhaul, Chad Singer, David Ragsdale, Billy Greer